comments 2

Sweet Eats: Favorites | Healthy Snack Options

DSC_1125

When it comes to eating healthier for a whole day (it’s a struggle out there sometimes), it gets a bit tricky in between breakfast, lunch and dinner. What should you eat and is it okay to even eat anything at all?

Many people have different answers, but I’m going to share with you what works for me!

I believe in snacking in between meals because

1- it speeds up your metabolism, and

2- it helps you maintain portion control!

Now, what do I mean by “maintain portion control”?

Well, when you eat breakfast and then wait hours to eat lunch, you tend to eat more than your stomach really wants during either meal (or even both!); or in some cases, people skip breakfast altogether and then end up binging on empty foods for fulfillment. (by empty I mean processed, GMO filled, zero nutrient containing foods)

Once you incorporate at least 1 (sometimes 2 if you get really hungry) snack per day in your meal plan, I guarantee that you will see your portions decrease. Eating a small breakfast and then a fig bar a couple of hours later will leave you content by the time lunch rolls around so then you will opt for a smaller meal. (one day soon I will do a “What I Eat in a Day” post)

When it comes to snacking, snack smart! No need to have a “serving size” of oreos, or a mini size bag of potato chips.(which people tend to opt for when they’re lazy or hangry)

You aren’t really getting the amazing nutrients your body needs and deserves from those types of processed foods.

Below, I have included an example of the snacks that I usually have in my pantry. These provide me with nutrients such as fiber, which promotes digestive health, and are gluten or dairy free (which I need to follow due to health reasons…lactose intolerance sucks when you love cheese!)

DSC_1152

Dehydrated or dried organic fruit

As an alternative to candy or a bag of chips, try dehydrated fruit! You can find these at wholefoods or your “Nature” aisle in your local supermarket. (don’t let the appearance fool you….these are DE-licious!)

DSC_1144 DSC_1146

Brown Rice or Flax Seed crackers

Not only are these filled with fiber, protein and omega 3s; and not only are they free of GMO’s, unhealthy fat, sugar, sodium, or cholesterol, but these are very tasty! Admittedly, the rosemary flavor isn’t my favorite, but they do have other flavors like “savory” which might be a bit more tastier if you decide to try it out. These can be found at Wholefoods!

DSC_1133 DSC_1135

Healthy Popcorn

We all need that one indulgent snack; you know, the one you mindlessly nibble on while watching your favorite trash tv show or lifetime movie network drama movie. Why not make it a HEALTHY version? This is a great alternative to the heavily processed, heavily buttered and salty movie theater popcorn most people choose.(I think my arteries clogged up just typing that sentence!) This is lighter, healthier and tastes just as good! I got this from the “nature” aisle in Stop & Shop.

DSC_1138 DSC_1139

Fig Bar

This snack takes me back to my childhood, a healthier version of the fig newton bar! It’s gluten free, dairy free, cholesterol free (..hey! you’re never too young to care about your cholesterol) and Non GMO. It’s also light on the sugar (which I’ve been starting to pay more attention to in things I eat). A delicious treat in the afternoon that doesn’t contain high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavors, colors or preservatives is something I’ll grab as I dash any day!

DSC_1142

Nuts

Lastly, a snack that will definitely hold you over….nuts! Cashews are proven to curb your appetite, (as it fills you up with just a handful) and gives you energy to push through those horrible cases of the “Mondays”. It also provides our system with copper, which is needed for many important things in our body, which can be read, hereAlmonds promote healthy heart properties, as well as help you lose weight due to their healthy fat properties!

DSC_1125

All in all, eating healthy doesn’t have to be boring or taste bland. There are plenty of healthy snacking options out there, just do your research and try it out!

Question of the Day: What are your go to, healthy snacks?

Leave a comment below!

xoxo

2 Comments

  1. Liz

    Yum! I love snacking 🙂 I just tried that popcorn brand and I love it! Popcorn is my go-to for when I’m craving something crunchy and salty.

    Like

Leave a comment